Back to All Events

Arkansas Academy of Computing - Arkansas Computes

Each year the Academy has a public event to introduce new members and present important topics in computing in Arkansas.  This year's event occurs in the EIT Building on the UA Little Rock campus at 9am on Oct. 28th. The program will open with an introduction of the 2017 inductees accompanied by a few words from Governor Asa Hutchinson. There will be presentations on a variety of the many computing activities in Arkansas, including a report from the programs at UA Little Rock and UA Fayetteville campuses at Fayetteville,  a short history of Arkansas computing, a look into the Central Arkansas tech scene by the organizer's of LR Tech Fest and others,  new developments in K-12 education, and an update on computing research. For free registration click here.

Academy Inductees have strong connections with Arkansas,  significant career contributions over a period of at least 20 years, and service to the community. This years inductees and the main focus of their careers are, in alphabetical order:

Brent Birch              E-commerce

Chris Cline               Financial Technology 

Justin Farnsworth       Aerospace-Defense

Doug Goodwin        Financial Technology

Andy Mayes              Educational Technology

Raye Jean Montague Aerospace-Defense

Elizabeth Pierce        Information Quality

For more information about the Academy see: